Department

The Department of Architecture at the Technical University of Munich has 1.500 students and 200 members of academic staff working in 30 professorships, and takes a research-oriented approach to teaching also in cooperation with businesses and public institutions – embedded in the vibrant living and research environment of the Greater Munich Area.

With 1,500 students, 200 scientists and 30 professors, the Department of Architecture at the Technical University of Munich is pursuing a research-oriented teaching approach in cooperation with public organizations and companies – embedded in the excellent living and research environment of the greater Munich area.

Our central task is to sustainably improve teaching and research in our field and to develop strategies for the transformation of our built environment. Starting from the core activity of designing, we synthesize, contextualize and design complex spatial solutions. Our vision is to successfully integrate design practice into research.

The department offers an unusually wide range of subjects. The three competence fields “Urban and Landscape Transformation”,”Integrated Building Technologies” and “Cultural Heritage, History and Criticism” are characteristic.

We belong to one of the top universities in Europe. As a university, the TUM is committed to excellence in research and teaching, interdisciplinary education and the active promotion of promising young professionals. It also forges strong links with businesses and academic institutions around the world. The TUM describes itself as an entrepreneurial university and was one of the first three universities to be appointed to the German Excellence Initiative program. With its “Emerging Field Policy”, the TUM explores new areas of development at the intersection of academia, the economy, and society.

Department

Die Fakultät für Architektur an der Technischen Universität München verfolgt mit 1.500 Studierenden und 200 Wissenschaftler*innen und 30 Professuren einen forschungsorientierten Lehransatz in Kooperation mit öffentlichen Organisationen und Unternehmen – eingebettet in das hervorragende Lebens- und Forschungsumfeld des Münchner Großraums.

 

Die Fakultät für Architektur an der Technischen Universität München verfolgt mit 1.500 Studierenden und 200 Wissenschaftler*innen und 30 Professuren einen forschungsorientierten Lehransatz in Kooperation mit öffentlichen Organisationen und Unternehmen – eingebettet in das hervorragende Lebens- und Forschungsumfeld des Münchner Großraums.

Unsere zentrale Aufgabe ist es, die Lehre und Forschung in unserem Fach nachhaltig zu verbessern und Strategien für die Transformation unserer gebauten Umwelt zu entwickeln. Ausgehend von der Kerntätigkeit des Entwerfens synthetisieren, kontextualisieren und gestalten wir komplexe räumliche Lösungen. Unsere Vision ist es, Designpraxis erfolgreich in die Forschung zu integrieren.

Die Fakultät verfügt über ein ungewöhnlich umfangreiches Themenportfolio. Der methodische Schwerpunkt des Entwerfens („Architectural Design“) dient als grundlegende Basis für Lehre und Forschung. Charakteristisch sind die drei Kompetenzfelder “Urban and Landscape Transformation”, “Integrated Building Technologies” und “Cultural Heritage, History and Criticism”.

Die TUM ist eine der besten Universitäten Europas. Spitzenleistungen in Forschung und Lehre, Interdisziplinarität und Talentförderung zeichnen die TU München aus. Dazu kommen starke Allianzen mit Unternehmen und mit wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen auf der ganzen Welt. Die TUM ist dem Leitbild der unternehmerischen Universität verpflichtet. Sie ist eine der drei ersten Exzellenz-Universitäten Deutschlands. Mit ihrer „Emerging Field Policy“ erschließt die TUM neue Entwicklungsfelder zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft.